Mobile Menu

Honor A Colleage: Maureen L. Cropper

2019 Honor A Colleague Recipient

Maureen L. Cropper

Distinguished University Professor; Chair

University of Marlyand: Economics Department

Maureen L. Cropper, an environmental economist who possesses a unique mix of theoretical exactness, methodological practicality, and policy sense, has influenced the evolution of the economics profession and inspired colleagues and students for nearly five decades. With over 90 publications, she has contributed to both theory and practice across a wide spectrum of topics, from discounting to non-market valuation theory and applied methods. Her research has taken her into a similarly wide-ranging set of sectors, including environment, energy, climate change, and transportation.

Maureen may be best known for the key contributions she has made to the valuation of health and mortality, using stated and revealed preference models. Equally important, however, is her work in program evaluation, which has increased our understanding of both regulatory decision making and programmatic impacts. She has also made important contributions to the literature that attempts to understand peoples travel behavior and the relationship between commuting, housing location, and job choice. While much of this research has focused on the United States, she has conducted pioneering work designed to improve policy choices in developing countries, notably India, China, Thailand, and Ethiopia.

Maureens influence has been felt in her organizational leadership and her commitment to public service. She is currently (and has been for seven years) the Department Chair at University of Maryland, where she has spent the majority of her career. At various times, she has served as President of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists and as a Lead Economist at the World Bank. She has served on the U.S. Environmental Protection Agencys Science Advisory Board, and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences; for both organizations she has played leadership roles on multiple committees dealing with environmental regulations, energy, climate change, or other issues. She has been a stalwart supporter of the Society of Benefit Cost Analysis over the years, participating in numerous conferences and writing for, and serving on the Editorial Board of, the Journal.

Maureens many collaborations over the yearswith former students, with colleagues at the University of Maryland, World Bank, the Environmental Protection Agency, and Resources for the Future, with practitioners in related disciplines, and with many othershave greatly enriched the field of environmental economics and helped to forge critical links between economic theory and its practical application in a variety of policy contexts.

Maureen received a B.A. in economics from Bryn Mawr College (summa cum laude, 1969) and a Ph.D. in economics from Cornell University (1973). Since then, she has held faculty positions at the University of California at Riverside, the University of Southern California, and the University of Maryland, where she is a Distinguished University Professor. She is a Senior Fellow at Resources for the Future, a Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research, and a Fellow of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists. Maureens service is not over: we expect her to inspire, motivate, and challenge her colleagues, collaborators, and students for many years to come.

Individuals Who Contributed to Honoring Maureen L. Cropper

  • Antonio Bento
  • Roger Betancourt
  • Soma Bhattacharya
  • Glenn Blomquist
  • Dallas Burtraw
  • Thomas Crocker
  • Leland Deck
  • Duke University
  • Scott Farrow
  • Arthur Fraas
  • Kenneth Gillingham
  • Patrice Gordon
  • Ben Groom
  • Robert Hahn
  • Geoffrey Heal
  • Martin Heintzelman
  • Mun Ho
  • Sandy Hoffmann
  • Robin Jenkins
  • Yi Jiang
  • Sebnem Kalemli-Ozcan
  • Catherine Kling
  • Masami Kojima
  • Elizabeth Kopits
  • Kerry Krutilla
  • Julian Lampietti
  • Benjamin Leard
  • Brian Murray
  • Ahmed Mushfiq Mobarak
  • Clark Nardinelli
  • James Neumann
  • Richard Newell
  • Ian Partridge
  • Robert Pindyck
  • William Pizer
  • Christine and Paul Portney
  • Ingmar Prucha
  • Jyotsna Puri
  • Lisa Robinson
  • Richard Schmalensee
  • Robert Schwab
  • Jhih-Shyang Shih
  • Fran Sussman
  • Mike Toman
  • Martin Weitzman
  • Casey Wichman
  • David Zilberman

If you would like to make a contribution to Honor a Colleague, please go to:

The Society would like to express our gratitude towards Fran Sussman and Catherine Kling for coordinating and implementing this campaign in Maureen's honor.