Mobile Menu

2021 Professional Development Workshop Proposals

**The submission deadline has now passed. However, the Professional Development Committee will consider late submissions at its discretion. To submit a proposal, please follow the instructions below.**

We are very pleased that the move online allows us to offer professional development workshops throughout the year. These workshops allow you to help your colleagues develop new skills and learn about new topics. We welcome proposals in any area related to benefit-cost analysis. Workshops may address basic or advanced skills or emerging issues. Topics of interest to those working in academia, government, industry, or nonprofits globally are welcome. Examples include:

  • Developing basic skills related to conducting specific types of analysis
  • Understanding current theoretical or methodological developments
  • Conducting surveys and using survey data
  • Exploring recent findings or trends in particular policy areas
Workshops are generally offered as two 2-hour online sessions on different days, but you may propose a different schedule. Workshops may be designed as mini-courses, panel discussions, highly interactive conversations, or other formats. Innovative approaches are welcome. Workshops may not be used for commercial purposes and must provide a balanced perspective.
The submission portal is now open; the deadline is 11:59 pm Eastern time. December 4, 2020. To review the submission instructions, click here. To begin your submission, click hereTo learn more about our annual conference and to submit an abstract, please click here

These workshops are offered by SBCA members on a volunteer basis to provide an important service to the field. SBCA generally charges a $300 per attendee registration fee for an online workshops that consists of two two-hour sessions, but may adjust this charge for workshops of different durations. All proceeds are used to fund SBCA operations and service. 
SBCA 2021 Professional Development Committee: Nancy Bergeron (chair), Sandra Hoffmann (Workshop Subcommittee chair), Dan Acland, Joe Devlin, Steven Lize, Jonathan Wiener.
Note: While conference and workshop proposals may be submitted after the December 4, 2020 deadline, late submissions are not guaranteed consideration.